MSN Faculty Members Named to the American Academy of Nursing

2017 American  Academy of Nursing Fellows

The American Academy of Nursing’s 2017 class of fellows includes two Chamberlain professors – Kathleen Hunter, PhD, RN-BC, CNE and Carolyn Sipes, PhD, MSN, RN, CNS, APN, PMP, RN-BC – both from our Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) degree program.

Kathleen Hunter

Dr. Hunter’s many contributions in the area of nursing informatics include leading the development of nursing informatics as a distinct advanced practice specialty and working to ensure that informatics technical standards include a nursing perspective. At Chamberlain, she helped establish the MSN Nursing Informatics Specialty Track and developed a number of courses.

Carolyn Sipes

Dr. Sipes’ fellowship recognizes both her pioneering work in AIDS research and her contributions to the development of electronic health records (EHRs), including her efforts to identify functionalities that nurses needed in EHRs. Dr. Sipes also developed informatics-competency skill assessments used throughout clinical departments.

Fellowship in the Academy is one of nursing’s highest honors, granted in recognition of extraordinary contributions to nursing education, management, practice, policy or research.

Contact us:

Toll Free: 877.751.5783

Chamberlain University
National Management Offices
3005 Highland Parkway
Downers Grove, IL 60515
A Proud History
For over 125 years, Chamberlain University has been preparing extraordinary nursing graduates.