Academic Calendar

Chamberlain University operates on a student-centric calendar. Each year consists of two summer, two fall and two spring sessions. Each semester consists of 16 weeks of instruction and exams; classes will be scheduled in two eight-week sessions each semester.

View the Academic Calendar

2019-20202020-2021

2019-2020: Cycle 1

2020 Spring Semester Cycle 1: January 6, 2020 - April 25, 2020
Monday, January 6 January session begins
Monday, January 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday*
Sunday, February 16 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, February 21 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, February 29  January session ends
Monday, March 2 March session begins
Friday, April 10 Spring holiday*
Sunday, April 12 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, April 17 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, April 25 March session ends
Monday - Sunday, April 27 - May 3 Spring Break

2019-2020: Cycle 2

2020 Spring Semester Cycle 2: March 2, 2020 - June 27, 2020
Monday, March 2 March session begins
Friday, April 10 Spring holiday*
Sunday, April 12 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, April 17 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, April 25 March session ends
Monday - Sunday, April 27 - May 3 Spring break
Monday, May 4 May session begins
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day holiday*
Sunday, June 14 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, June 19 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, June 27 May session ends
Monday - Sunday, June 29 - July 5 Summer break

2020-2021: Cycle 1

2020 Summer Semester Cycle 1: May 4, 2020 - August 29, 2020
Monday, May 4 May session begins
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day holiday*
Sunday, June 14 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, June 19 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, June 27 May session ends
Monday - Sunday, June 29 - July 5 Summer break
Monday, July 6 July session begins
Sunday, August 16 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, August 21 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, August 29 July session ends
2020 Fall Semester Cycle 1: August 31, 2020 - December 19, 2020
Monday, August 31 September session begins
Monday, September 7 Labor Day Holiday*
Sunday, October 11 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, October 16 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, October 24 September session ends
Monday, October 26 November session begins
Thursday-Friday, November 26-27 Thanksgiving break*
Sunday, December 6 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, December 11 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, December 19 November session ends
Monday - Sunday, December 21 - January 3 Winter break
2021 Spring Semester Cycle 1: January 4, 2021 - April 24, 2021
Monday, January 4 January session begins
Monday, January 18 Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday*
Sunday, February 14 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, February 19 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, February 27 January session ends
Monday, March 1 March session begins
Friday, April 2 Spring holiday*
Sunday, April 11 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, April 16 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, April 24 March session ends
Monday - Sunday, April 26 - May 2 Spring Break

2020-2021: Cycle 2

2020 Summer Semester Cycle 2: July 6, 2020 - October 24, 2020
Monday, July 6 July session begins
Sunday, August 16 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, August 21 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, August 29 July session ends
Monday, August 31 September session begins
Monday, September 7 Labor Day holiday*
Sunday, October 11 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, October 16 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, October 24 September session ends
2020 Fall Semester Cycle 2: October 26, 2020 - February 27, 2021
Monday, October 26 November session begins
Thursday - Friday, November 26 - 27 Thanksgiving break*
Sunday, December 6 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, December 11 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, December 19 November session ends
Monday - Sunday, December 21 - January 3 Winter break
Monday, January 4 January session begins
Monday, January 18 Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday*
Sunday, February 14 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, February 19 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, February 27 January session ends
2021 Spring Semester Cycle 2: March 1, 2021 - June 26, 2021
Monday, March 1 March session begins
Friday, April 2 Spring holiday*
Sunday, April 11 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, April 16 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, April 24 March session ends
Monday - Sunday, April 26 - May 2 Spring break
Monday, May 3 May session begins
Monday, May 31 Memorial Day holiday*
Sunday, June 13 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, June 18 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, June 26 May session ends
Monday - Sunday, June 28 - July 4 Summer break

* Classes do not meet on the holidays recognized on this calendar. For student’s convenience, the online classes will remain open.


** Last date to withdraw refers to the last date that the student may withdraw from a class and receive a grade of “WP/WF” for general education science, nursing and health professions courses or a grade of a “W” for general education non-science courses. The last day to withdraw from all classes and receive a refund varies.