ACADEMIC CALENDAR

Chamberlain University operates on a student-centric calendar. Each year consists of two summer, two fall and two spring sessions. Each semester consists of 16 weeks of instruction and exams; classes will be scheduled in two eight-week sessions each semester.

View the Academic Calendar

2018-2019: Cycle 1

2018 Summer Semester Cycle 1: April 20, 2018 - September 2, 2018
Monday, April 30 May session begins
Monday, May 28 Memorial Day holiday*
Sunday, June 10 Last day to withdraw from general education science and nursing courses**
Friday, June 15 Last day to withdraw from general education and non-science courses**
Saturday, June 23 May session ends
Monday - Sunday, June 25 - July 8 Summer break
Monday, July 9 July session begins
Sunday, August 19 Last day to withdraw from general education science and nursing courses**
Friday, August 24 Last day to withdraw from general education and non-science courses**
Saturday, September 1 July session ends
2018 Fall Semester Cycle 1: September 3, 2018 - December 23, 2018
Monday, September 3 September session begins
Monday, September 3 Labor Day Holiday*
Sunday, October 14 Last day to withdraw from general education science and nursing courses**
Friday, October 19 Last day to withdraw from general education and non-science courses**
Saturday, October 27 September session ends
Monday, October 29 November session begins
Thursday-Friday, November 22-23 Thanksgiving break*
Sunday, December 9 Last day to withdraw from general education science and nursing courses**
Friday, December 14 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, December 22 November session ends
Monday - Sunday, December 24 - January 6 Winter break
2019 Spring Semester Cycle 1: January 7, 2019 - April 28, 2019
Monday, January 7 January session begins
Monday, January 21 Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday*
Sunday, February 17 Last day to withdraw from general education science and nursing courses**
Friday, February 22 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, March 2 January session ends
Monday, March 4 March session begins
Sunday, April 14 Last day to withdraw from general education science and nursing courses**
Friday, April 19 Spring holiday*
Friday, April 19 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, April 27 March session ends
Monday - Sunday, April 29 - May 5 Spring Break

 

2018-2019: Cycle 2

2018 Summer Semester Cycle 2: July 9, 2018 - October 28, 2018
Monday, July 9 July session begins
Sunday, August 19 Last day to withdraw from general education science nursing courses**
Friday, August 24 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, September 1 July session ends
Monday, September 3 September session begins
Monday, September 3 Labor Day holiday*
Sunday, October 14 Last day to withdraw from general education science and nursing courses**
Friday, October 19 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, October 27 September session ends
2018 Fall Semester Cycle 2: October 29, 2018 - March 3, 2019
Monday, October 29 November session begins
Thursday - Friday, November 22 - 23 Thanksgiving break*
Sunday, December 9 Last day to withdraw from general education science and nursing courses**
Friday, December 14 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, December 22 November session ends
Monday - Sunday, December 24 - January 6 Winter break
Monday, January 7 January session begins
Monday, January 21 Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday*
Sunday, February 17 Last day to withdraw from general education science and nursing courses**
Friday, February 22 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, March 2 January session ends
2019 Spring Semester Cycle 2: February 26, 2019 - June 23, 2019
Monday, March 4 March session begins
Sunday, April 14 Last day to withdraw from general education science and nursing courses**
Friday, April 19 Spring holiday*
Friday, April 19 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, April 27 March session ends
Monday - Sunday, April 29 - May 5 Spring break
Monday, May 6 May session begins
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day holiday*
Sunday, June 16 Last day to withdraw from general education science and nursing courses*
Friday, June 21 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, June 29 May session ends
Monday - Sunday, July 1-7 Summer break

 

2019-2020: Cycle 1

2019 Summer Semester Cycle 1: May 6, 2019 - August 31, 2019
Monday, May 6 May session begins
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day holiday*
Friday, June 14 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Sunday, June 16 Last day to withdraw from general education and non-science courses**
Saturday, June 29 May session ends
Monday - Sunday, July 1-7 Summer break
Monday, July 8 July session begins
Sunday, August 18 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, August 23 Last day to withdraw from general education and non-science courses**
Saturday, August 31 July session ends
2019 Fall Semester Cycle 1: September 2, 2019 - December 21, 2019
Monday, September 2 September session begins*
Monday, September 2 Labor Day Holiday*
Sunday, October 13 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, October 18 Last day to withdraw from general education and non-science courses**
Saturday, October 26 September session ends
Monday, October 28 November session begins
Thursday-Friday, November 28-29 Thanksgiving break*
Sunday, December 8 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, December 13 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, December 21 November session ends
Monday - Sunday, December 23 - January 5 Winter break
2020 Spring Semester Cycle 1: January 6, 2020 - April 25, 2020
Monday, January 6 January session begins
Monday, January 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday*
Sunday, February 16 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, February 21 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, February 29  January session ends
Monday, March 2 March session begins
Friday, April 10 Spring holiday*
Sunday, April 12 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, April 17 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, April 25 March session ends
Monday - Sunday, April 27 - May 3 Spring Break

 

2019-2020: Cycle 2

2019 Summer Semester Cycle 2: July 8, 2019 - October 26, 2019
Monday, July 8 July session begins
Sunday, August 18 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, August 23 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, August 31 July session ends
Monday, September 2 September session begins*
Monday, September 2 Labor Day holiday*
Sunday, October 13 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, October 18 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, October 26 September session ends
2019 Fall Semester Cycle 2: October 28, 2019 - February 29, 2020
Monday, October 28 November session begins
Thursday - Friday, November 28 - 29 Thanksgiving break*
Sunday, December 8 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, December 13 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, December 21 November session ends
Monday - Sunday, December 23 - January 5 Winter break
Monday, January 6 January session begins
Monday, January 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday*
Sunday, February 16 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, February 21 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, February 29 January session ends
2020 Spring Semester Cycle 2: March 2, 2020 - June 27, 2020
Monday, March 2 March session begins
Friday, April 10 Spring holiday*
Sunday, April 12 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, April 17 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, April 25 March session ends
Monday - Sunday, April 27 - May 3 Spring break
Monday, May 4 May session begins
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day holiday*
Sunday, June 14 Last day to withdraw from general education science, nursing and health professions courses**
Friday, June 19 Last day to withdraw from general education non-science courses**
Saturday, June 27 May session ends
Monday - Sunday, June 29 - July 5 Summer break